Scoring a 50 in T20 is fantastic, but imagine scoring a century! Tournament such as the IPL features some big-name players, so it’s almost expected for one of them to score a century or make some big runs. Today,m we are going o take a look at the players who have scored the most centuries in the IPL.


Chris Gayle- 6 Centuries:

If you ask any random person to take a guess on who has scored the most centuries in the IPL, I am certain they would either say, Virat Kohli or Chris Gayle. To see Chris Gayle’s name on this list is the same as Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi finishing in the top 5 of the Balon D’or, it’s expected. Chris Gayle or the “Universal Boss” or “Gaylestorm, however, you want to call him has scored an impressive 6 centuries in the IPL so far. He scored his first century in 2011 and his last one was in 2018. Chris Gayle managed to get 6 centuries in just 131 games.

Virat Kohli- 5 centuries:

Another name many would have expected to be on the list. When you hear records, you imagine Kohli. 4 out of 5 of Kohli’s hundreds came in the 2016 IPL. Prior to that, Kohli hadn’t scored a single century. In the 2016 edition of the IPL, Kohli finished as the leading run-scorer with 973 runs, just shy of 1000 runs. Kohli is also the player with the most runs in the tournament, with 5878 runs in 192 matches. Suresh Raina comes second. Kohli’s last century was against Kolkata Night Riders in 2019. I think we all know that a sixth century will be coming soon.

David Warner- 4 centuries:

David Warner is the most successful overseas player in the tournament. His 4 centuries are a testimony to that statement. During his IPL career, Warner has played for two teams, the Delhi Daredevils and the Sunrisers Hyderabad, while most of his centuries have come for the latter. He has scored a total of 5254 runs in 142 innings so far, making him third in the list of most runs in the tournament. David Warner also has a unique record to his name. He is the only player to have won the orange cap thrice. All of this just solidifies the fact that David Warner is an absolute class player.

Shane Watson- 3 Centuries:

Next on the list is another Aussie, Shane Watson. Shane Watson has raised his bat an astounding 3 times. Watson has played for three teams, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Chennai Super Kings.  Watson has scored 3874 runs in 145 innings. His last century came against the Sunrisers, he scored a blistering 117 in 54 balls, helping CSK become the champions. Unfortunately, Watson will not be a part of this year’s IPL.

AB de Villiers- 3 centuries:

At number 5 we have “Mr 360”, ABD is also the third RCB layer to feature on this list, the other two being Vk and Gayle( Gayle left RCB, but he scored most of his centuries when playing for RCB) ABD similar to Watson has also scored 3 centuries. ABD has also scored  4849 runs in 156 innings so far. He along with Virat Kohli has lead RCB’s star-studded batting lineup for many years. When ABD is on the crease you can bet that he is going to play some abnormal shot, his boundary against Punjab in the 2015 edition of the tournament.  (Check youtube for highlights)  

Ajinkya Rahane- 2 centuries:

Ajinkya Rahane’s first century was for Rajasthan Royals in the 2012 edition of the IPL. He was not out at 103. His last one was in 2019, this was against the Delhi Capitals. I’m sure there is more to come from him in the upcoming tournament.

Brendon McCullum- 2 centuries:

Who can forget McCullum’s escapade with the bat on the inaugural match of the IPL? He scored a massive 158 for KKR against RCB. After that, McCullum went on to score another century in the 2015 edition of the IPL.

Virender Sehwag- 2 centuries:

Viru has also scored two centuries in the IPL. He has played for two teams, Delhi Daredevils and Kings XI Punjab. He has also captained the Delhi side.

Murali Vijay- 2 centuries:

Vijay has played for three teams in the IPL, CSK, Delhi Daredevils, and Kings XI Punjab. Both of his centuries were for CSK. The 127 he scored against Rajasthan, is one the highest individual scores of the tournament.

Sanju Samson- 2 centuries:

The last player on the list, we have the destructive Sanju Samson. Sanju has played his trade for 3 teams, KKR, Delhi, and Rajasthan. His first century came in the 2019 edition of the IPL against the Sunrisers. He scored 102 off just 52 balls. He is currently the captain of Rajasthan Royals. Sanju Samson is also the youngest player ever to lift the trophy. He was 17 when he first won the tournament with KKR.

It will be interesting to see how this season of the IPL is going to unfold. Maybe players like Rishabh or Ishan might emulate what Virat did in 2016, or Virat himself might go on to play like the champ he is and maybe score over 1000 runs in the tournament. No matter what, we know it’s going to be an interesting tournament.